The beginning and some background

One of my photographs taken near the river here.

Well then, here’s the beginning.  I’ve never really had a blog before, and I doubt I’ll have many readers of this one.  But, I’ve been doing a lot of reading lately and I just figured I’d give it a shot.  I read the Art of Manliness a lot, and one thing old Brett McKay continues to discuss is the value of writing — specifically the value of journaling.  I enjoy writing — I know, people who despise writing do not start blogs — and I hope that keeping this blog will encourage me to dig a little deeper and truly think through those things that happen every day.  I don’t know how much current information I’ll get to on here to begin with (it’s the internet after all), but I’m hoping I can help others learn and grow through my experiences.

I grew up as a military kid; my dad spent over 20 years in the Army as an Infantryman (11B for you Army types).  He was a Drill Sgt when I was born, and I don’t think that way of thinking has ever actually left him.  We did push ups or wall sits when we were stupid (and we were always stupid).  When we truly crossed a line, it was a good old fashioned ass-whipping followed by more push ups or sit ups or wall sits.  We moved a few times, but nothing like what some Officers’ kids had to go through.

Dad could be harsh, and that’s putting it lightly.  He wouldn’t hesitate to tell you where you were screwing up or to tell you how you were wrong.  But, and this is the God’s honest truth, I can absolutely see where that tough attitude was a benefit for us.  I learned to have a thicker skin, to show little emotion, and to think on my feet.  I learned to be adaptable to new situations and surroundings, and I learned that you only count on those who’ve been through the same shit as you.  I grew up with thick skin.

What I learned through the moves and the bullshit is that life is what you make it.  My life hasn’t always been easy (who really has had it easy anymore anyhow?) but I’ve been provided great opportunities and I’ve worked hard to take advantage of them.  The best decision I made was to get out of what I called my hometown and join the military as an 18 year old kid.  It put me on the right path and allowed me to finally get out and figure out who I was and who I wanted to be.

I am married to a woman who supports what I do and supports our kids, and I wouldn’t have found her if it hadn’t been for the military.  In fact, nothing that I now am would have passed without the military.  I am as defined by service as I was defined by my father’s service.  It’s funny for me to write that, because no one who knew me 15 years ago would have ever imagined me saying anything of the sort.

Anyhow, I hope this is a good ride and that I am able to give something to those who read this, whether that’s help, happiness, laughter, or just a way to pass the time.  I look forward to growing as a writer though this blog.

Leave a Reply

